Jennifer

In the Best of Company

In General Information on October 23, 2008 at 6:13 pm

I recently confided in someone close to me that this election is wearing on my patience. Some of my acquaintances, including people who call themselves Catholic, have been inundating me with pro-Obama propaganda. My views have been mocked. I have been called racist, anti-gay, prejudiced, and unintelligent. It has been suggested that I am against helping the poor and even that I am NOT pro-life (because I don’t support the liberal social agenda). As someone who has always striven to live my faith, it has been tremendously hurtful to have something so fundamental to my being made fun of or trivialized on a daily basis. It bothers me immensely to see Barack Obama’s face pasted into religious images, to hear people compare him to a messiah and make statements such as “Jesus was a community organizer, Pontius Pilate was a governor.” The person who I confided in had a very good and reassuring point. She said, “Remember that Jesus was also mocked. You are in the best of company.”


Reflecting on this point, I realized that mankind has been here before. Prior to His crucifixion, Jesus was betrayed by one of his own disciples, a man who we would have assumed to agree with and support Jesus. With a kiss on the cheek he signaled to the guards that Jesus was the man to be crucified. Jesus was placed on trial before the public, and a vote of sorts was carried out. The people could choose to free Jesus, a peaceful man whom Pontius Pilate found to be innocent of the crimes of which He was accused, or Barrabas, an insurrectionist and murderer. The people, whom Jesus had never harmed, made their choice loud and clear: “Barrabas!”

The passion of Jesus serves as a metaphor for where we find ourselves now. And considering that Jesus died to forgive all our sins past and future, I don’t believe this is merely coincidence. Remember His words: “Weep not for me, but for your children.” While I would never presume to compare any political candidate to Jesus, I would venture to believe that Jesus would not mind a comparison to the millions of innocent human beings murdered each year through abortion. And of course, Jesus is the Church. While I would not compare a person to Barrabas, I would suggest that he represents the culture of death, the pro-choice movement that is slowly but surely corrupting our good country. Jesus was mocked prior to his horrific death. Although he truly was the King of kings, the guards made fun of this notion, fashioning a crown of thorns and a purple robe for him to wear. Jesus is the culture of life, Barrabas the culture of death.

While this election process and the betrayal by fellow Catholics has been difficult to bear, I know that it is only a small taste of what Jesus endured on our behalf. I am grateful to Him that I am allowed to share in His experience, and that I have gained a great deal of insight into my own faith and beliefs.

I would like to offer a new “mantra” to the Obama supporters who are so keen to use our Lord’s name for political purposes: Jesus was betrayed by His own, and Barrabas was a murderer. And I would ask my fellow Catholics: Which side do you want to be on?

Leave a Reply

